I’m uncomfortable with the vision of reality that I was taught in my youth- both the vague version of my childhood, and the more rigorously scholastic one that I so fervently embraced as a young man. Law is not the final reality that lies behind all else. I used to believe so, but now I know that there is a deeper magic.

Because of this I tend towards knee-jerk reactions when God is depicted as angry. I equate them with the legal transactional-ism of former days. I see the divine bookkeeper who needs to give an account to ‘his ledger’, if he is to act graciously; but…

….then I remember that there are other reasons for anger and hatred. Chief among them is true love. I was reminded of this when I read Jason Micheli’s wonderful reflection over at Jesus Creed. Its worth your time: Wrath Reconsidered.

