Legion hasn’t been released. I haven’t seen it. Which means I don’t know what I’m talking about really, so…. I’m probably jumping the gun here. 🙂

As  the trailer began I thought  ‘Angels. Cool.’

But the more I watched, well…. lets just say that anyone sitting close to me in that dark theater was treated to a moan of disgust. How could anyone get it so wrong?

From what I can tell (and I can’t really tell, yet), the story goes like this: God has finally given up on humanity. He’s really pissed and is going to wipe us out once and for all by sending in an army of angels. One of the angels- the angel, actually- has gone rogue. Michael still believes in humanity. He will stand against God’s anger and the plague of angelic assassins that God has unleashed on the earth.

He can’t do this for long. God and his minions are too powerful, but he can buy time and protect the mother of humanity’s only real hope. It seems that, as promised, Christ is returning. In a repeat of his first advent, he is being born of a woman.

The stoic Michael barricades himself inside a desert diner with this woman and a few others.  The tension comes from the increasingly hopeless attempts to delay the certain destruction until the babe can arrive.

The horror level is ratcheted up as seemingly good and wholesome characters turn out to be monstrous assassins. Angels disguised as angelic Grandmothers and children are revealed to be bloodthirsty demons, just waiting for permission to have some  real fun.

Maybe I’ve got the idea completely wrong; Like I said I haven’t seen the thing, but this seems to be the gist of it. You can understand my despair. How can people get it so wrong? Typical unbelievers.

But… then it occurred to me that this was pretty much the story that I once equated with the gospel. I don’t doubt that I misheard it, but I know that there are many, many who have misheard the same story.

You start with a really angry god who is bent on giving mankind what they deserve, but thankfully Jesus hasn’t given up on us. He steps in to pacify God’s anger, buy us some more time, protect us from god.

It’s reminded me of how wonderful the creed’s short phrase ‘of one substance with the Father’ truly is. There is no god behind Jesus.  God is Jesus. When we see Christ we truly see what the Father is like. The kingdom of God isn’t about power in the end, so that Gabriel and god’s host are distinguished only by how they limit the expression of their hatred and violence to ‘lawful’ targets.

There is something missing in this films conception of Divinity. I think it comes of imagining God apart from Christ. I wonder where the filmmakers learned to do something like that.

